2021 UCI World Championships to go ahead in Flanders, Belgium

The 2021 UCI Road World Championships is the 94th edition of the UCI Road World Championships, the annual world championships for road bicycle racing. It will be held between 19 and 26 September 2021 in the Flanders region of Belgium.

The region was chosen in light of the centenary of the world championships with the UCI opting for a return to one of the original founding countries.

Due to the ongoing pandemic, the schedule for the event has been reduced to the following events:

  • ITT: Men Elite (43.3km) / Women Elite (30.3km) / Men U23 (30.3km) / Junior Women (19.3km) / Junior Men (22.3km)
  • Mixed Team Relay (44.5km)
  • Road Race: Men Elite (268.3km) / Women Elite (157.7km) / Men U23 (162.6km) / Junior Women (73.7km) / Junior Men (119.4km)

We are pleased to share that the following 66 athletes (50 male, 16 female) are currently registered to represent Africa at the event across the disciplines listed above:

Male Athletes:

  • Lotfi Tchambaz (Algeria)
  • Hamza Mansouri (Algeria)
  • Mohamed Redwane Brinis (Algeria)
  • Abdelkrim Ferkous (Algeria)
  • Mohamed Amine Nehari (Algeria)
  • Aymen Merdj (Algeria)
  • Oussama Cheblaoui (Algeria)
  • Ayoub Ferkous (Algeria)
  • Oussama Abdellah Mimouni (Algeria)
  • Khaled Mansouri (Algeria)
  • Paul Daumont (Burkina Faso)
  • Raphael Parisella (Burkina Faso)
  • Vincent Mouni (Burkina Faso)
  • Bachirou Nikiema (Burkina Faso)
  • Henok Mulueberhan (Eritrea)
  • Efrem Gebrehiwet (Eritrea)
  • Biniam Girmay (Eritrea)
  • Petros Mengs (Eritrea)
  • Natnael Berhane (Eritrea)
  • Dawit Yemane(Eritrea)
  • Metkel Eyob (Eritrea)
  • Merhawi Kudus (Eritrea)
  • Natnael Tesfazion (Eritrea)
  • Tsgabu Gebremaryam Grmay (Ethiopia)
  • Negasi Haylu Abreha (Ethiopia)
  • Hailemelekot Hailu (Ethiopia)
  • Kiya Rogora (Ethiopia)
  • Christopher Symonds (Ghana)
  • Iliass Hasnany (Morocco)
  • Youssef Lamzaouk (Morocco)
  • Mohammed Najib Sanbouli (Morocco)
  • Ed Doghmy Achraf (Morocco)
  • El Yass Sekkiny (Morocco)
  • Jean Eric Habimana (Rwanda)
  • Samuel Niyonkuru (Rwanda)
  • Byiza Renus Uhiriwe (Rwanda)
  • Etienne Tuyizere (Rwanda)
  • Jason Oosthuizen (South Africa)
  • Chanton Perrins (South Africa)
  • Gustav Basson (South Africa)
  • Warren Moolman (South Africa)
  • Ryan Gibbons (South Africa)
  • Reinhardt Janse Van Rensburg (South Africa)
  • Jayde Julius (South Africa)
  • Stefan de Bod (South Africa)
  • Pedri Crause (South Africa)
  • Jason Eggett (South Africa)
  • Travis Barrett (South Africa)
  • Travis Stedman (South Africa)
  • Marc Oliver Pritzen (South Africa)

Female Athletes:

  • Adyam Tesfalem (Eritrea)
  • Desiet Kidane (Eritrea)
  • Bisrat Gebremeskel (Eritrea)
  • Adyam Tesfalem (Eritrea)
  • Diane Ingabire (Rwanda)
  • Valentine Nzayisenga (Rwanda)
  • Frances Janse Van Rensburg (South Africa)
  • Hayley Preen (South Africa)
  • Chante Olivier (South Africa)
  • Caitlin Thompson (South Africa)
  • Chloe Bateson (South Africa)
  • Sonica Klopper (South Africa)
  • Kerry Jonker (South Africa)
  • Tiffany Keep (South Africa)
  • Ashleigh Moolman Pasio (South Africa)
  • Courteney Webb (South Africa)

We will of course update our audience across on our social media channels as to the actual participants in each race, and the results as they happen.

We always recommend following and subscribing to the alerts from our good friends at ProCyclingStats for the very best, and most accurate race, results and rankings data.

Good luck to all! #AfricaRising